My trusty bike

Here it is, my trusty Shanks’ pony, wire donkey or whatever you want to call it. I’ve had this bike almost 14 years now, and I think it’s benefited a lot from having always been kept inside. It’s also been excellently maintained in recent years (though I have to give the credit for that largely to someone else…).

Today I did my first longish tour on it since it received a new saddle and various other bits, plus a general overhaul. I’m a bit saddle sore, as I think the saddle needs to be tipped forward a bit more than it is, plus the chain came off when I had to do some radical gear-changing going up a steep hill.

Still, I have now reported back to the Chief Mechanic and he’ll have it sorted by Tuesday, at which time we hope to try it out again…

20120812-223652.jpg

2 Comments

Filed under Out & about

2 responses to “My trusty bike

  1. Do you think your Chief Mechanic could give me a 101 in Bike Maintenance? ;-) Reading about it is one thing, actually doing it another. :D

    • I’ll be more than happy to ask him, and I’m sure he’d love to show you a few tricks and basics. Remind me about this when we get back from holiday, and we’ll sort something out.

Leave a Reply

