December 1 – One Word

Encapsulate the year 2010 in one word. Explain why you’re choosing that word. Now, imagine it’s one year from today, what would you like the word to be that captures 2011 for you?

My word for 2010 is homecoming. My original home will always be the place I come from, and I never want to lose the special feeling I have when I go back there; but this year I have gained a new parallel sense of homecoming and being settled in the place I actually live. After many years of divided loyalties between Freiburg and other places where I would regularly spend my weekends or other important time with someone I shared other parts of my life with, it’s been a real change of pace to move from the week’s rhythm to the weekend rhythm in the same place, without having to pack a bag, and without having to say goodbye to one group of people and hello to another. As a result, my friendships here have deepened, the flat has become a place where people regularly come together for meals, parties and TV/film evenings, and I’ve invested a lot more time, energy and warmth in making the place more comfortable and homelike than it already was. And…… this year there is even going to be a Christmas tree 🙂

As for 2011: I’d like the word to be equilibrium.

2 Comments

Filed under Memes & blogging challenges, Up close and personal

2 responses to “December 1 – One Word

  1. squonky

    That sounds great – very homely! Goodness, you’ve been busy here. I have much catching up to do :^)

  2. Pingback: December 31 – Core story | Searching for sunshine

Leave a Reply

