December 6 – Make

What was the last thing you made? What materials did you use? Is there something you want to make, but you need to clear some time for it?

I have had to think hard about this one, which in itself strongly suggests I haven’t been making enough recently. My first thought was of the IKEA cupboard I bought and assembled last week (materials: contents of two flat-pack boxes, oodles of screws, nails, wooden plugs and other bits; a couple of glasses of wine). However, that doesn’t seem a very creative job. As for culinary creations, I don’t think chopping up a load of veg and shoving it in the oven counts in the spirit of what is meant, either, delicious though it was. And even my project of printing out, framing and hanging up some photos a couple of weeks ago (see my earlier post) didn’t seem to contain enough of the “make” element, even though there was a creative process buried in there somewhere… As for things I want to make, I’d love to finally get proficient in machine sewing and create all sorts of soft furnishings, clothing and accessories. The obstacle is that I always feel I need more time for that than I have available.

However, I do now have a response to the original question that I can feel pleased with: The last thing I made was a resolution to see through some creative projects (small ones, mind!) between now and Christmas. Be it making Christmas cards or tree decorations, a complex new recipe or something involving (hand) needlecraft. Hopefully I’ll have something to show here in due course. And I’ll make the sewing machine a project for the New Year. Definitely. Maybe.

1 Comment

Filed under Memes & blogging challenges, Up close and personal

One response to “December 6 – Make

  1. It took me a while to settle into this prompt as well. I am vaguely satisfied with my response. I enjoyed meandering along with yours. Made me feel more at peace with mine.

    I am grateful to “meet” you through Reverb10~!

Leave a Reply

