December 8 – Beautifully different

Beautifully Different. Think about what makes you different and what you do that lights people up. Reflect on all the things that make you different – you’ll find they’re what make you beautiful.

I could give you my personal angle on lots of things that make me different in a way that might put people’s lights out (if that’s the right opposite of lighting them up), but it sounds as though this prompt is using the word “different” in a positive sense. Uniqueness, perhaps, what sets you apart from the rest. Oh dear. In that case, I’ll have to rely on what others say about me.

Apparently I’m particularly motivating and encouraging as a teacher. I can tell you exactly why I make an effort to be this way:

  1. I was pathologically shy as a schoolgirl and young student, which made me really appreciate anyone else’s efforts to make me less so.
  2. I have an equally pathological fear of boring people.
  3. Erm, isn’t it an essential part of the job description to be motivating and encouraging?

People also seem to like the way I use humour, whether in teaching or in conversation with friends. See point 2 above for one reason for this. I also think that humour is an important part of communication (used appropriately, of course) and of making things memorable. Maybe the British propensity for humour also comes into it. I know I am deeply suspicious of humourless people.

I feel really uncomfortable about this prompt, so I think I’ll stop there and move on to see what the next one is (having missed a day yesterday).

Leave a comment

Filed under Memes & blogging challenges, Up close and personal

Leave a Reply

