December 14 – Appreciate

What’s the one thing you have come to appreciate most in the past year? How do you express gratitude for it?

I know I’ve mentioned it before in one of my recent posts, but it has to be cooking and entertaining at home, plus enjoying the same at friends’ homes. The prospect of having people round for a meal used to pose a huge challenge to my emotional wellbeing and would lead to me painstakingly trying to get everything just perfect, and either wearing myself out in the process or not having the time or leisure to enjoy with my guests once they had arrived.

Having done all this much more often now over the last year, and on many occasions there having been two of us to host the event, I have relaxed into it and now thoroughly relish any opportunity to bring people together in this way. M and I have enjoyed getting together some of his friends and some of mine around one table, and it’s been fantastic to see the two groups get to know each other better. When my brother was over recently, that was another good opportunity to try a different mixture of dinner guests and to try to combine personality elements that were not likely to be too one-sided or clash with one another, in the same way that one tries to plan a menu along similar lines. I think he found it a reasonably palatable mix, too.

How do I express gratitude for it? By continuing to do it often and by enjoying it more every time. And by banging on about how much fun it is!

Leave a comment

Filed under Food, Memes & blogging challenges, Up close and personal

Leave a Reply

