December 18 – Try

What do you want to try next year? Is there something you wanted to try in 2010? What happened when you did / didn’t go for it?

This year I tried pâté de foie gras. Very expensive stuff from a French supermarket. I was decidedly underwhelmed and more than a bit put off by it, I must say – it had the colour and texture of putty, was unpleasantly claggy on the tongue, and it tasted like a mixture between liver sausage and lard (not so surprisingly, perhaps). I won’t be bothering with it again.

I also wanted to try oysters but didn’t quite muster up the courage, so that can be my olfactory / gastronomic challenge for 2011. I find the idea of them slightly repulsive, plus they’re not the most attractive looking of morsels. However, several people who know my tastes seem convinced that I would like them after all, plus I don’t like the feeling of being biased against foods I haven’t tried.

6 Comments

Filed under Food, Memes & blogging challenges, Up close and personal

6 responses to “December 18 – Try

  1. Jools Cyprien

    I was like you are with oysters but tried them at a little sushi place while I lived in Canada. They were superb but he had prepared them with finely shredded lemon zest,spring onion and a splash of soy sauce. No slimy goo he’d removed that. I’d defo try them again but I suppose how they are prepared.

    Merry Christmas

  2. anne-julie

    Well, I can’t eat oysters, but from the smell of them I don’t think I would like them. My dad used to eat them every Christmas (he’s not allowed to anymore for health reasons), and he certainly enjoyed them.

    Unlike you, however, I really like foie gras. Can’t eat much of it, and I only ever eat it once a year (usually at our family Christmas dinner), but I enjoy it. There’s a lot of difference between the cheap and the expensive foie gras, though. And I like neither liver nor lard 🙂

    • As I said, this was definitely not cheap stuff, and it was deemed good by other people who tried it. Still, one can’t like everything, I guess, plus foie gras is one of those foods with not insignificant ethical issues attached to it (though it would have been hypocritical for me to highlight those, as there are other equally “dodgy” things that I eat) AND it’s not exactly a health food, so I needn’t grieve over it.

      • anne-julie

        I don’t doubt it was good stuff that you bought, and I know quite a few people who don’t like it, so it’s nothing out of the ordinary. And yes, there are ethical issues, but as you say, with the way we eat today and the way most of our food is produced, it would be quite hypocritical to dwell on it. Oh Gods, and the calories… won’t even think about it! 😀

  3. Pingback: 100 foods to eat before you die | Searching for sunshine

Leave a Reply

