December 20 – Beyond Avoidance

What should you have done this year but didn’t because you were too scared, worried, unsure, busy or otherwise deterred from doing? (Bonus: Will you do it?)

The first thing that occurs to me in a pang of conscience is my dining chairs. Ever since they came into my possession quite a number of years ago I have been meaning to get them repaired and reupholstered. They need to be done properly, using traditional methods and materials, and I think that’s been the main obstacle that has prevented me getting them done before now – I simply haven’t come across a suitable local restorer.

The chairs, like the dining table that goes with them, belonged to my grandparents, who received them as a wedding present in 1937 and used them on a practically daily basis throughout the sixty-plus years of their marriage. They look almost identical to this chair, though two or them have arms. Most people find them too dark, too ornate, too heavy or too impractical, but I have always loved them.

The years have taken their toll, and two of them are, by now, too wobbly to sit on, while all of them have very saggy seat pads. However, they also have signs of age that I would not want to lose through restoration: the smooth, worn, patina’d areas on the arms of the two carvers, most visibly on the one used by my tweed-jacketed Grandpa.

I will certainly get them restored if I can find the right person to do the job, and I hope that 2011 will finally see the job done.

2 Comments

Filed under Memes & blogging challenges, Up close and personal

2 responses to “December 20 – Beyond Avoidance

  1. Sven

    Hey sweetie,
    Will keep my fingers crossed that you get time to fix the chairs during 2011.
    What I hoped to accomplish in 2010 but didn’t was to head back “home” to Australia. Unfortunately work and other things prevented that from happening, but now I have booked my trip for 2011 so I’m GOING!! =) Don’t give a rats a*s as to who will do my work during that time next year, it’s not my problem! 🙂 Also, with my resource managers good planning, I will cut back on all the overtime in 2011 and start having a life again.
    HAPPY NEW YEAR, Rebecca!!
    *Hugs from Sweden*
    //Sven

    • squonky

      That is very good to hear Sven :^)

      And I hope you find someone suitable for the repairs on the chairs Rebecca (“repairs on the chairs” is making me think of “scores on the doors” and I’m grimacing). It’s great to have items like that which have been used for so long by people you love. I have a writing desk made and used by my grandfather which occupies a similar place in my affections to your chairs I would imagine, and I still have wooden spoons, a rolling pin and other kitchen utensils that I know my mum used.

Leave a Reply

