December 26 – Soul Food

What did you eat this year that you will never forget? What went into your mouth & touched your soul?

Certainly the most welcome meal consisted of things I would normally wrinkle my nose at: instant soup, tinned ravioli and lukewarm orange juice on the evening we arrived in Valence after a nightmare day of dead-ends, losing one another, blasting scirocco headwinds, fear, exhaustion and generally totally failing to reach our intended destination. I really did learn to appreciate the importance of having just SOMETHING to eat and drink during that time, and I hope it’s changed my awareness of food and eating for the better.

I could give details of many grander and more sumptuous meals during the year, but that was the one that nourished my soul most.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food, Memes & blogging challenges, Up close and personal

Leave a Reply

