Iron Blogger 2012

Well, with my last update having been over eight months ago, it doesn’t take a genius to figure out that I’ve not been doing too well at this blogging lark over the last while. This is, however, about to change (I hope).

Today I saw this announcement by fellow Freiburg blogger Jochen that he was starting an “Iron Blogger” challenge for local bloggers (see his blog entry for how it works). He’d mentioned it a week or two ago on Twitter and I’d already decided that it might be the right thing for me, as a weekly entry on a subject of my choice seems a much more doable project at present than something daily or restricted to a topic or medium I might not always feel very enthusiastic about (e.g. photography or memes).

I know it’ll be a challenge for me all the same, but I’m going to try to get away from the feeling of obligation to write lengthy, complicated and/or erudite stuff, and I hope that this will in fact enable me to say more about a wider range of things that interest me (and, I hope, you).

I’m also optimistic that it’ll bring a few other Freiburg bloggers out of the woodwork – I can think of several who’ve let their blogs lie fallow of late, and several more who I’d love to see taking this up as a new challenge.

So: watch this space, and I’ll be back again very soon…

8 Comments

Filed under Memes & blogging challenges

8 responses to “Iron Blogger 2012

  1. Great! This will be fun!

  2. I’ll be watching you 😉

  3. I’ve chosen to stay in the habit of blogging even when I’m not entirely sure I have something worth saying. On my teablog, I’ve tried posting daily. Although I could do it, it seems several times per week is my rhythm.

    The newer blog is about everything and nothing and sounds like it’ll fit into exactly what you’re talking about. I’m looking forward to what you come up with.

    • Thanks for the follow and the comment. I participated in a daily blogging project back in December 2010 and that nearly finished me off – that kind of pressure combined with natural perfectionism is an exhausting mixture. But I *think* I can manage once a week.

      I’ll check out your new blog too – I’ve enjoyed several things on your teablog but some of it is way over my head (I resisted saying “not my cup of tea” … ah, oops!).

  4. Pingback: Ten things I have discovered this week | Searching for sunshine

Leave a Reply

