Seven times seven

Dilemma: I HAVE to write a blog post today to keep up with the at-least-one-post-a-week promise I made at the beginning of this year, but I’ve been so busy with admin, paperwork and other tasks that planning, thinking and drafting has fallen by the wayside and I now have blogger’s block. This can only mean one thing: meme to the rescue! This one (which I discovered here) struck me as worth doing, partly because I can’t spontaneously think of more than a couple of things to write for some of the categories, and also because I’ve always considered the number seven to be my lucky number…

Seven Things that Scare Me:

  • the prospect of failure
  • darkness (especially outside, e.g. in a forest at night)
  • death (though largely that of those I love, not so much my own)
  • being in an enclosed space with uncontrollably drunk people
  • the belief that science is the solution to everything
  • having to address a room full of strangers (e.g. at the beginning of term)
  • Googling ailments

Seven Things I Like:

  • rain on the roof at night when I’m tucked up in bed
  • lots of colour in my surroundings
  • tulips
  • red wine
  • sundried tomatoes
  • getting people to be interested in and more knowledgeable about language(s)
  • historical fiction and drama

Seven Random Facts About Me:

  • I don’t have a driving licence (and don’t want or feel I need one, either)
  • However, I do have lots of qualifications and awards, including a fire safety certificate, a primary school sports victrix ludorum trophy, and a Blue Peter badge
  • I have never read any of the Harry Potter books, or seen the films
  • I have always wanted to have curlier hair (but would never have a perm and dislike using curling tongs etc.)
  • I sleep on my front and find it impossible to fall asleep lying on my back
  • I never snack on chocolate
  • I am very bad at thinking of random facts about myself that might actually interest other people

Seven Things I want to Do Before I Die:

  • make sure that those I love really know what’s so special about them
  • learn to use a sewing machine properly
  • improve my French
  • paint a picture someone else could imagine hanging on their wall
  • work out how to cook the perfect curry for my tastes (and then do it often!)
  • learn not to regret the past
  • get everything organized so no one has a nightmare dealing with what I leave behind

Seven Things I Can Do Well:

  • cook
  • do word games and puzzles like crosswords, Scrabble etc.
  • remove the faff as far as possible from administrative tasks
  • worry myself into a frenzy about trivial things
  • manage money
  • plan trips etc. to optimise resources and time available
  • load the dishwasher (isn’t it sad that I take pride in this?!) 😉

Seven Things I Can’t Do But Wish I Could:

  • ski (though I’m only interested in cross-country skiing, not downhill)
  • repair computers
  • always be able to think of something to say
  • dance (properly)
  • argue convincingly
  • lay tiles
  • play the organ (as in a proper pipe organ, with pedals and multiple manuals – it is not just the same as playing the piano)

Seven Phrases I’m Known to Use:

  • “Let’s have some quiet, please!” (said invariably at the end of groupwork sessions)
  • “Hello, it’s me” (apparently all phone calls to my parents start this way)
  • “It’s OK, I’ll do it” (said not often begrudgingly, but more often because I think I’ll do a better job or would rather do that task than a more boring one)
  • “Where are my keys?” (I have never lost my keys (touch wood!), but am forever mislaying them in the moment I need to leave)
  • “Oh for *%&$’s sake!” (uttered most frequently when I’m alone in the kitchen)
  • “Give me a second” (as in five or ten minutes)
  • “I love you” (I hope I say this every day)
5 Comments

Filed under Memes & blogging challenges, Up close and personal

5 responses to “Seven times seven

  1. squonky

    You have a Blue Peter badge?! Would love to know what you got that for. And I can join you in the “Hello, it’s me” phone greeting.

    • Haha – yes, the “Hello, it’s me” isn’t particularly original (but then again, no one said the phrases had to be – and I’m definitely not someone who has really odd or unusual catchphrases).

      The Blue Peter badge was for writing in and telling them about a mistake in one of the recipes in one of their annuals. If truth be told, it was my Mum who spotted it, but I got a letter from Biddy Baxter and everything, which was almost as good as the badge itself!

  2. Kelly

    You’ve not read Harry Potter?
    I had my doubts about the series, but read the first book on a dare. One chapter into the first book & I was hooked. I definitely recommend the books. The storyline is really well thought out. The movies are ok, but the books are better.

    • I have rarely heard anything negative about the books. My problem is that I very frequently find myself developing a strong antipathy towards anything that “everyone” else seems to be doing, and I end up making a vow not to do it, at least until said “fad” has fallen into obscurity. This serves no practical purpose whatsoever, but I’ve seen myself do it so many times, particularly with regard to books, films, TV series and food and drink. I’ve probably missed out on some excellent stuff as a result… maybe it’s something I should try to change. Can’t decide.

      • squonky

        ‘find myself developing a strong antipathy towards anything that “everyone” else seems to be doing’ <- that, right there, that's me!

        I did eventually cave in on the Harry Potter books after my sister recommended them and let me borrow the first one. I won't go into a review of them here. Read them all but enjoyed the first three most.

Leave a Reply

