Feeling slightly on edge

FallingAfter a week of catching up with work and another week of intensive examiners’ meetings following our holiday, today I have been taking stock of what I still need to get done this month. And it’s A LOT. Rather more than I’d been bargaining with.

Much of it’s bitty and routine, but the biggest thing on my mind is the seven new book chapters I need to submit by October 1st, and the thirteen I need to revise. By now I know roughly the range of how long it takes me to draft a chapter – anything from about two-thirds of a working day to three working days, depending on the whereabouts / frame of mind of my muse and how familiar with / keen on the content I am. The revisions are more of an unknown quantity as they range from simple rephrasing to moving and / or replacing whole chunks, with the attendant issues of layout to bear in mind. And there’s one chapter that’ll have to go back to the drawing board as I’m too unhappy with it.

Plus I’m going away for a week next Saturday, but hey, that’s what laptops are for, isn’t it? A change is as good as a rest, etc. etc.

I shall endeavour to provide a few updates as (if?) I make progress…

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Work stuff

Leave a Reply

